Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Autopilot+Spark - Flight Mode switch on RC

mick92780

Join
Jul 17, 2017
I haven't flown with Autopilot yet. I'm still learning. In the Hangar Flight School, under 1.1 Overriding Autopilot, it says, "Critical: To override Autopilot, toggle the Flight Mode switch to the appropriate setting for your aircraft type (S for the Phantom 4 and Mavic, P for all others). Then fly the aircraft using the Remote Control."

The Spark RC's Flight Mode Switch goes from P(normal flight) to S(Sport mode)

Does the quote above imply that I should use Autopilot in S mode on the RC, and then flip the Flight Mode switch from S to P if I want to do an emergency override of Autopilot?

The documentation wasn't definitive about that.

Thanks to anyone who cares to take a run at that.

Well, I just had my first flight with the Spark and Autopilot.

I did a zip line from one end of my street to the other at 120 feet while keeping the gimbal/camera focus on my house. It worked as advertised.

One surprise: once I engaged Autopilot, and it counted down from 5 and flew the Spark up to Point A, I expected it would then just proceed to Point B without my intervention. It did not. I looked at the app and saw "Fly to Point B" in purple letters. I pressed it, and it then executed the maneuver, flawlessly as far as I can tell.

After it was done it just hung in the air at Point B. I pressed disengage and flew the bird back to me.

The RC mode switch was in P the whole time. So then, does that mean, given my original question in this thread that when I want to do an emergency override of Autopilot I would move the slider to S?

I guess I will try that and answer my own question.

One other thought: it's a mighty odd feeling to watch your drone flying under computer control. Mostly cool, but also a little unsettling.

Reactions: julian46
This came in this morning from Hangar:

HI Mick,