Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Spark arriving Monday...

James Lummel

Join
Jul 20, 2018
Hi! My name is James and I've been building and flying multirotors for a few years now, and I must say that I'm pretty excited about getting the Spark (which should be on Monday)! I got a refurbished Spark Fly More package in Alpine White directly from DJI thru their Newegg.com online store and paid about $285 for the deal (I had some Eggpoints I was able to apply to get the price that low, regular price was $350 or so).

My first DJI was a Phantom 1.1.1 several years ago when DJI was closing them out, but more recently I've picked up a Phantom 3 4K (last December) and a Phantom 4 Advanced (refurb) last month (which is where I got the Eggpoints I used for the Spark). I'm using the P4A professionally, but until I get my 107 I'm acting as the spotter for the small company I'm working with, though I do occasionally get to fly with our 107 pilot being the "pilot in charge" as allowed under 107.

I bring that up because the reason I got the Spark was on our last trip out (traveling almost 1000 miles to 8 different remote sites) we could have used a good scouting drone at a few of the sites. While I could build up a small 250 quad or hex with a MiniAPM and FPV, I wouldn't be able to use it commercially since the video feed would have been on 5.8gHz (not that the frequency matters). So I could use it as a ham (long as I'm transmitting my call sign with the video, W7JBL), but as a ham I can't use it for commercial purposes. And I have a duty to my clients NOT to encumber any work I do for them with legal issues of ANY sort, potential or fully realized!