Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Newbie Here

Walter Hall

Join
Mar 22, 2018
Hello Everyone:

Yes I am a newbie. Has my Spark for 48 hours now. I will try not to be a pest but I do want to learn. First stupid questions are:

1. Do you have to have an internet connection on my phone to fly the spark with the controller?
2. Do you have to have an internet connection on my phone to fly the spark with the phone?

I guess you need to be signed into the Spark app DJI GO4 to do either, but is this a stand alone app or does it require being internet connected to the DJI server?

Thanking you in advance!

Regards,

MAUIWH

Hello from the Mid-West, Walter Hall.

You do need a WiFi connection, but not to the internet.

Check your devices WiFi list and select the Spark once it's turned on .

Welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Hello Mid-West!

Thanks for responding. So the WIFI I need is produced by the drone correct? I do not need a WIFI source from a store or home near me?

Regards,

Walt

Hello Everyone:

Yes I am a newbie. Has my Spark for 48 hours now. I will try not to be a pest but I do want to learn. First stupid questions are:

1. Do you have to have an internet connection on my phone to fly the spark with the controller?
2. Do you have to have an internet connection on my phone to fly the spark with the phone?

I guess you need to be signed into the Spark app DJI GO4 to do either, but is this a stand alone app or does it require being internet connected to the DJI server?

Thanking you in advance!

Regards,

MAUIWH
No you do Not need Internet to fly the drone but you will need it for any updates if you need them.

To update the firmware yes, to fly no
I guess I don't understand, I get that you need wifi for updates. But how does the Spark connect to the app if you need no internet and no wifi? I thought the Spark produced wifi that the phone can connect to?