Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Flying Drones Near Heliports

rickster

Join
Jan 1, 2018
I am a newbie owner of a Spark who resides in central NJ. I suppose the FAA has established the "5 mile airport restriction" because that would cover larger commercial drones that have significantly more range. That restriction seems particularly unfair for Spark owners because it can't fly anywhere near 5 miles from its Home---but I assume that's just the way it is. I live an area that is mostly residential but has approximately 16 heliports, mostly corporate, and 1 Regional Airport within 5 miles of my residence and some parks where I would like to fly my Spark. It would be too time consuming to call all of them every time I wanted to fly locally. Is my only real choice to get in my car, drive somewhere with fewer or no airport restrictions, fly my drone for 20 minutes (I have 2 batteries) and go home?

The short answer regarding calling heliports is NO. I am very familiar with that area and to even attempt tracking down whom to call for notification is an exercise in futility. Sit tight and the 107 guys will surely "chime in".

Last edited: