New warning message

Discussion in 'Spark Discussions' started by Peter Case, Feb 28, 2018.

  1. Peter Case

    Peter Case Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    has anyone gotten a new warning message about flying in certain areas. You have to check a box that you accept responsibility and hit ok.
    It takes up most of the screen now.
     
  2. Dante' Watson

    Dante' Watson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yea, normal when you enter zones with enhanced geofences that are within 5 miles of airports hospitals or other heliports.
     
  3. MannyCAM2001

    MannyCAM2001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    193
    Yes, I have. DJI is definitely reducing their risks in pilot error OR JUST plain irresponsible flying and the FAA. As long as you're following the guidelines, as I try to do, you're fine.
     
    Dante' Watson likes this.
  4. Rafa7

    Rafa7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Georgia USA
    Yes, I see that popup sometimes too, I verify I can fly in this location if I haven't check already, then I will check the box and hit okay to continue. Fly safe.
     
  5. Peter Case

    Peter Case Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. jaxnd

    jaxnd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is the box? I see a "YES" and I tap that but nothing happens. I guess my eyes aren't that good any more.
     
  7. MannyCAM2001

    MannyCAM2001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    193
    You DO have to have access to the internet, if not NO JOY.
     
  8. jaxnd

    jaxnd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aaaaaah! Thank you!
     
  9. jaxnd

    jaxnd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok some time has passed and I made sure that my iphone gives permission to DJI app for cellular data. I was hit by the warning the other night and knew that I had 4 bars so cell service was good. However I was working through my RC controller and perhaps that blocked the cell service? I pressed yes and the box stayed there.
    Is there something I'm not finding on my dji app that I need to set?
     
  10. Rustic17

    Rustic17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Look to the right of the warning...a dark blue circle on a black background (difficult to see in bright sunlight)...poorly designed by the app people. Tap the circle which then becomes a checkmark. Tap the Yes. Sometimes there are two circles that need to be tapped.
     
  11. Rustic17

    Rustic17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
  12. jaxnd

    jaxnd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow... that is really hidden. I'll go back to the site and try again. Thank you so much for this very clear instruction.
     
  13. Rafa7

    Rafa7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Georgia USA
    On a sunny day, the first time this message pop-up for me I had to fly with it on screen because I couldn't find the darn check box circle LOL
     
  14. Vilco

    Vilco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    It happened to me with the first appearance of the "class D airspace" warning. I was under the sun, then I went under a colonnade and could finally see the 2 boxes :)
     
  15. Rafa7

    Rafa7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Georgia USA
    I know that was me, running around looking for a shadowed area LOL

    Hey, I noticed on your signature that you reduced the Spark weight to 300 g but it is already a 300 g, what do you mean by that statement?
     
  16. Vilco

    Vilco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    With the original prop guards it weighs over 300 grams, and I had to keep it under 300 with prop guards on to be in the "harmless" cathegory as per the italian aviation authority rules (along with a maximum speed of no more than 60 kph). This way I can fly in urban areas without the need for two expensive course + exam s(circa 500-600 each nowadays thanks to the 300g sparks, one year ago they were around 1000 each) and without delimiting the area with barriers or picket lines (figure a guy with a very portable drone and 20 meters of plastic barriers...) and without paying each time 94 eur to said authority: flying in urban areas is a critical mission here in Italy, so if you haven't a harmless drone you need to require authorization circa 45 days prior to the mission and pay 94 eur per each authorisation :(
    With a harmless one all of this nonsense is no more necessary: no exams, no barriers, just a once in a year 94 fee to the AA and fly by the rules
    It almost looks like they made this "harmless" cathegory just for working with the Spark, gimme a Spark 4K (or a drone as good as the Spark with a 4K cam) and I could almost quit my current job :)
     
  17. Rafa7

    Rafa7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Georgia USA
    Dang, way to go, that is an excellent plan.
    What are the prop guards extra weight and how do go about reducing the Spark+prop guards weight to 300 g?
     
  18. jaxnd

    jaxnd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all for revealing the Secret of the Blue Circle! I went back to the location and even in the shade I had a hard time finding it...but I did. I don't think I'd ever have figured this secret out without your help, so thank you. Hopefully I can help someone else down the line.
    Jackson
     
  19. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    82
    I just started getting this error, and I have no network on my phone, so I am SOL
     
  20. Rafa7

    Rafa7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Georgia USA
    Which error is that? If you're referring to the acknowledgement pop-up message above, you don't need network to check the circle and get rid of it.
     
    #20 Rafa7, Apr 6, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2018