Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Flying in Germany/Switzerland/Italy

iMith

Join
Mar 12, 2018
Hello everyone,

Complete newbie here so apologies for the simple questions.
I'll be going on a trip and I keep on getting a bit of mixed information regarding flying liability insurance and labeling requirements.

I will be using the DJI spark so around 300grams. Do I need the flying liability insurance for such a small drone, and what kind of labeling is required?

Cheers

Hello everyone,

Complete newbie here so apologies for the simple questions.
I'll be going on a trip and I keep on getting a bit of mixed information regarding flying liability insurance and labeling requirements.

I will be using the DJI spark so around 300grams. Do I need the flying liability insurance for such a small drone, and what kind of labeling is required?

Cheers

Well, it depends on where you are going on your trip.

Both yes, you need a liability insurance and labeling in Germany.

For more information send this link to the Google translator:
BMVI - Klare Regeln für Betrieb von Drohnen
Thanks very much for the link.

What kind of labeling? Will a simple sticker do or is there a specific type required?
Also, I don't know if I missed it but I translated the page but there wasn't any mention of liability insurance on this particular page. :S

Look for liability at the previously linked page. Private drones are handled like RC model aircrafts and therefore a liability insurance is mandatory. Fortunately my private insurance could be extended for drones.

The label must be fireproof. Mine is made of aluminum and the text is engraved.

Look for liability at the previously linked page. Private drones are handled like RC model aircrafts and therefore a liability insurance is mandatory. Fortunately my private insurance could be extended for drones.

The label must be fireproof. Mine is made of aluminum and the text is engraved.