Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

DJI Spark - Tripod Mode

Rob C

Join
Jan 5, 2018
Would like some input as I am very new to flying drones and especially shooting video clips. I believe I heard on a YouTube video the recommendation to fly the Spark in Tripod mode for smoother cinematic effects. Is this the general opinion among the more experienced Spark pilots?

Would like some input as I am very new to flying drones and especially shooting video clips. I believe I heard on a YouTube video the recommendation to fly the Spark in Tripod mode for smoother cinematic effects. Is this the general opinion among the more experienced Spark pilots?
Not only is it smoother photos and videos, but it is extremely easy to fly and great for a beginner. I set up for my wife and she loves it.

I find it mainly usefull for certain cinematic shots like rotating the spark around it's own axes.

But when flying further/higher, especially in a straight line, it is too slow and doesn't do much in the video stability.

So I mainly used it for rotating shots and otherwise fly in normal mode. But as a beginner it is definitely a good setting to get some feeling on your drones moves and responses.

;)Keep in mind any prior adjustments made to your gimbal camera tilt up/ down settings will be slowed down even more. So check this before heading out into the Wild blue yonder

Yes indeed the camera tilt will be slowed down with it. But when rotating the drones axes that doesn't matter.

You’re right, rotating axis doesn’t matter.
My style, i usually combine both to minimize the gimbal 2axis restriction. Usually smooths it out for me.
Exactly, fly mostly without tripod, since I'm getting more experienced and dare to fly higher/further. But for the axis rotation I use it to compensate the 2 axis gimbal. Works great

Reactions: MannyCAM2001